Croatia Completely Opens Borders to Citizens of 10 EU Countries

Croatian Prime Minister Andrej Plenkovic said at the government session on Thursday that the country is completely opening its borders to 10 countries.

The premier said the decision to reopen borders came at the heels of Croatia’s success in combating coronavirus.

The Decision designates the following Member States of the European Union – Czech Republic, Hungary, Austria, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Slovenia, Germany and Slovakia whose nationals will now not have to prove the reason for their entry into the Republic of Croatia.

Nationals from these ten countries will be able to enter under the same conditions as before the outbreak of COVID-19, but still, with epidemiological control, and with the obligation to comply with general and special recommendations of the Institute of Public Health, the Civil Protection Headquarters of Croatia said in a statement.

“According to our comparative analysis of the epidemiological situation, those are the countries with either similar progress as Croatia or the trends are such that we can adopt such a decision and enable the arrival of those countries’ citizens during the tourist season, with the appropriate epidemiological recommendations and the special application that has already been made,” PM Andrej Plenkovic said at a cabinet meeting.

As the situation improves, the group of countries whose citizens can come to Croatia will expand, he added.

When citizens of these Member States enter the Republic of Croatia, their entry will be recorded with the collection of additional data (place of destination, mobile phone number and e-mail address), due to the possible need for contact for epidemiological reasons, the statement said.

Since the start of the outbreak, Croatia recorded a total of 2,244 cases and 101 deaths.

Croatia, with one of the weakest economies in the EU, is largely dependent on tourism along the country’s stunning Adriatic Sea coast. The country hopes to salvage as much as possible the summer tourism season after suffering losses the past months.

For more details entering Croatia from other countries, you can see the FAQs answered here.

Leave a Reply
Related Posts
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap