Germany Deletes Czech Republic From List of COVID-19 Mutation Areas

Germany has deleted the Czech Republic, Slovakia and the Austrian Tyrol from the list of regions with a high incidence of the more dangerous coronavirus mutations as of March 28, the Robert Koch Institute, administering this list, announced today. 

Austria’s hard-hit Tyrol region, which borders Germany, is also no longer considered a virus variant region and is now classified as a lower-level risk area, RKI added.

The travel updates come as Germany struggles to halt a sharp rise in new infections amid a slow vaccination drive and the spread of new, more contagious virus strains first detected in Britain, South Africa and Brazil.

In mid-February, the German government declared the Czech Republic, Slovakia and most of Tyrol to be areas with an increased incidence of more contagious coronavirus mutations.

From these areas, only German citizens and residents could enter their territory. Exceptions were given to truck drivers, medical staff and other groups of citizens, including cross-border workers.

Latest statistics

The health ministry recorded 7,853 new COVID-19 infections on Thursday, down from over 10,000 the week before.

The official death toll has reached 25,639, rising by 189 on the day, which also includes revisions to previous days, according to ministry data.

Related Posts
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap