AW Awards Includes Zátopek Among Top 5 Greatest Male Athletes

Voting is open to decide the outstanding athletes of 2020, plus the finest from the past 75 years.

Usain Bolt, Fanny Blankers-Koen, Haile Gebrselassie, Jackie Joyner-Kersee, and the Czech Emil Zátopek are among the athletes nominated in ‘the greatest’ category of the AW Awards.

Readers and AW magazine subscribers can cast their votes in the AW Clubhouse here.

There are the usual categories to take in the finest performances from international, British, junior, masters, and para-athletes, but there is also one extra category this time around.

The December issue of AW, which will reveal the award winners, will also mark the magazine’s 75th anniversary, and to commemorate the occasion they are asking magazine readers to vote for the greatest male and female athletes to have graced the sport since 1945.

Zátopek set 18 world records. He won five Olympic medals, three of them during Helsinki Olympic Games 1952. For 5,000 m, 10,000 m, and the marathon.

Full shortlists can be found below, with the results to be published in the December edition of AW.


The greatest male athlete  
– Usain Bolt
– Haile Gebrselassie
– Ed Moses
– Emil Zatopek
– Al Oerter

The greatest female athlete
– Fanny Blankers-Koen
– Irena Szewinska
– Jackie Joyner-Kersee
– Tirunesh Dibaba
– Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce

International male athlete  
– Karsten Warholm
– Joshua Cheptegei
– Mondo Duplantis
– Shura Kitata
– Jacob Kiplimo
– Ryan Crouser

International female athlete  
– Sifan Hassan
– Letesenbet Gidey
– Faith Kipyegon
– Brigid Kosgei
– Peres Jepchirchir
– Femke Bol

British male athlete
– Daniel Rowden
– Jake Smith
– Mo Farah
– Harry Coppell
– Jake Wightman
– Andrew Pozzi

British female athlete
– Jemma Reekie
– Jessie Knight
– Holly Bradshaw
– Laura Muir
– Aimee Pratt
– Laura Weightman

British junior male athlete  
– Max Burgin
– Kelechi Aguocha
– Lewis Byng

British junior female athlete  
– Amy Hunt
– Lucy-Jane Matthews
– Keely Hodgkinson

World masters male athlete  
– Tommy Hughes
– Aramis Diaz
– Herbert Mueller
– Cees Stolwijk

World masters female athlete
– Rosa Pedersen
– Julia Machin
– Anne Gilshinan
– Kathleen Stewart

World para-athlete male  
– Brent Lakatos
– David Weir
– Tomoki Suzuki

World para-athlete female  
– Hannah Cockroft
– Nikita den Boer
– Tsubasa Kina

Related Posts
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap