Sparta Prague Win 37th Czech Title After Nine Years Wait

Sparta Prague won a 37th Czech football title and their first in nine years following a goalless draw at FC Slovacko on Tuesday.

Sparta have a three-point lead over arch-rivals Slavia Prague with one match to go and a better record from the regular season, which makes them unbeatable.

Coached by Danish manager Brian Priske, Sparta have secured a spot in the Champions League qualifiers for next season.

The Prague side last won the title in 2014, with their first league trophy dating back to 1912.

The club was founded as Královské Vonohrady, or King’s Vineyard, in 1893. They became AC Sparta a year later.

The eternal rivalry between Sparta and Slavia, the ‘Derby S’ began in 1896 with a friendly match whose result is still disputed to this day.

Attracting working-class support, Sparta earned the nickname Železná, ‘Iron’, Sparta, because of their fighting qualities.

Support Prague Morning.

We are proud to provide our readers from around the world with independent, and unbiased news for free.
Our dedicated team supports the local community, foreign residents and visitors through our website, social media and newsletter.

We appreciate that not everyone can afford to pay for our services but if you are able to, we ask you to support Prague Morning by making a contribution – no matter how small! .

Related Posts
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap