EU to Reopen Borders to 14 Countries Starting July 1

European Union will reopen the borders to citizens of 14 countries starting from July 1: the list includes Australia, Canada, South Korea, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, Thailand, Uruguay, Algeria, Morocco, Tunisia, Georgia, Montenegro, and Serbia.

Travelers from China would be approved to enter, but under the condition that Beijing would do the same for Europeans.

The document is yet to be formally agreed by the Council of the European Union next week.

Some EU countries have requested a delay in the decision for further examination, meaning the decision may be revised. The list is not entirely binding, border management remains a matter of national decision.

“There are still ongoing consultations, which will continue until Monday,” an EU source said.

“There is no visibility on where this will go, but the presidency still hopes to put this matter to a vote on Monday,” the source added.

Brussels is following a principle of a joint agreement by EU countries based on criteria such as “health status, ability to apply containment measures during travel and reciprocity considerations”.

For now, countries like the United States, Russia, and Brazil are left out, where the epidemiological situation does not offer security for fear of new outbreaks.

On March 11, 2020, the WHO declared the COVID-19 outbreak a pandemic. According to the latest statistics, over 9,724,100 people have been infected worldwide and more than 492,000 deaths have been reported.

The United States is currently the country most affected by COVID-19 with more than 125,000 deaths.

Leave a Reply
Related Posts
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap