Czech Republic to Keep Temporary Internal Border Controls in Place for 20 More Days

austria borders czechia covid

The Czech Republic has decided to prolong the temporary reintroduction of border control at the land borders with Germany and Austria, as well as the air borders, which were set to expire on April 24, for another 20 days, until May 14th, with the possibility of further extension.

The border extension has been announced by the Czech Ministry of Interior, which explains that the internal borders with Austria and Germany can be crossed only at designated crossing points without any time limit.

Whereas road freight transport and cross-border workers, may cross at other crossing points listed below from 5 am to 11 pm.

The above-mentioned obligation does not apply to selected categories of persons for whom the restriction on the crossing of internal borders would be disproportionate and in some cases would be contrary to the public interest. These include, for example, an integrated rescue system, people in the event of an unforeseen emergency, freight transport, etc.,” the notice reads.

Designated Crossing Points at Internal Borders
  • Dolní Dvořiště – Wullowitz
  • České Velenice – Gmünd – Böhmzeil *
  • Nová Bystřice – Grametten
  • Hate – Kleinhaugsdorf
  • Mikulov – Drasenhofen

*  for road freight transport up to 3.5 t

  • Guard – Phillippsreut
  • Pomezí nad Ohří – Schirnding
  • Rozvadov- Waidhaus (highway)
  • Folmava – Furth im Wald / Schafberg
  • Iron Ore – Bayerisch Eisenstein
  • Beautiful Forest – Breitenau (highway)
  • Hora Sv. Of Sebastian – Reitzenhain
  • Vojtanov – Schönberg
  • Prague / Ruzyne (Vaclav Havel Airport Prague)
  • Prague / Kbely
Other Designated Crossing Points at Internal Borders

Whereas the border crossing points listed below, are permitted only for road freight transport respecting traffic restrictions, as well as persons who demonstrably regularly cross internal borders, in particular commuting workers and other persons, from 5 am to  11 pm.

  • Vratěnín – Oberthürnau
  • Valtice – Schrattenberg
  • Hevlín – Laa an der Thaya
  • Všeruby – Eschlkam
  • Rumburk – Neugersdorf
  • Tin – Altenberg
  • Petrovice – Lückendorf
  • Boží Dar – Oberwiesenthal
Leave a Reply
Related Posts
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap