Czech Republic Tightens Entry Rules for Several EU Countries

Czech authorities have revealed that entry rules will be tightened for unvaccinated and unrecovered EU nationals from Monday, November 1, as more than half of the 27-nation-bloc have been added to the unsafe travel list.

According to the press release issued by the Czech Ministry of Health, Bulgaria, Croatia, Ireland, and Slovakia have been added to the dark red category, reports.

Moreover, the red category will now include Denmark, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, whereas Cyprus will be added to the orange category.

While all fully vaccinated travellers, those with a previous COVID-19 infection and holders of the EU Digital COVID-19 Certificate and equivalent documents, are eligible to enter the country free of entry restrictions.

Unlike those, unvaccinated and unrecovered travellers from red and dark red countries are required to follow these rules:

  • Register before reaching Czechia and undergo a PCR test 72 hours or 48 hours before arrival for antigen tests
  • Take a PCR test no earlier than the fifth day of arrival and no later than the 14th day

Travellers from all categories are obliged to fill the arrival form before reaching the country.

Previously, the Czech Republic abolished quarantine requirements for arrivals for all categories as the measure had been dropped.

“The Ministry of Health is issuing a new protective measure with effect from Wednesday, October 27, which regulates the conditions for returning from abroad. It will no longer be necessary to undergo self-isolation for returns from red and dark red countries,” the statement of the Ministry reads.

Those who travel to Czechia by individual transport don’t have to take a test before departure, but they must take a PCR test on the fifth day of their stay.

The dark red category currently includes all third countries outside the EU and Bulgaria, Croatia, Latvia, Ireland, Romania, Estonia, Lithuania, Slovakia and Slovenia.

The red category consists of Belgium, Denmark, Iceland, Finland, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Poland, Hungary, Norway, Germany, Austria and Greece.

On the other hand, the orange category includes Andorra, San Marino, Sweden, Switzerland, Balearic Islands, France, Cyprus, Monaco and Portugal, and unvaccinated arrivals from these countries are obliged to take a PCR or antigen test five days upon entering the country.

Moreover, the green category countries, which also follow the same rules as the orange category, includes Malta, Italy, the Vatican City State, Spain, Australia, Bahrain, Chile, Hong Kong, Jordan, Korea, Canada, Qatar, Kuwait, Macao, New Zealand, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Rwanda, the Oriental Republic of Uruguay and Taiwan.


prague morning advertising.

Related Posts
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap