Czech Republic Tightens Entry Restrictions for 9 European Countries

prague population 2021

The Czech authorities have decided to tighten up entry restrictions for travellers from Germany, Denmark, Liechtenstein, Iceland, Andorra, Romania, Spain, the Canary Islands and Madeira, after a spike up in the number of cases in these seven countries and two islands in recent weeks.

According to the decision announced by the Czech Ministry of Health, starting from Monday, November 22, Germany, Denmark, Liechtenstein, Iceland, and Andorra will be added to the dark red category.

Romania, the Canary Islands and Madeira will be moved to the red category. The orange category will expand to include Spain,” the Ministry notes in a press release announcing the changes to the lists, adding that the changes have been made based on available data from the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC).

The decision means that travellers from Germany, Denmark, Liechtenstein, Iceland and Andorra, who are not vaccinated against COVID-19 and have not recovered from the virus in the last 180 days, aside from having to fill in the prearrival form, will also need to undergo an antigen or PCR test before they reach the country if they are travelling by public transportation. This test is not required for those reaching Czechia with private transportation.

However, arrivals from dark red areas, no matter the type of transportation, should also take a second PCR test between the fifth and the fourteenth day of their arrival in the Czech Republic, in which period of time they must remain isolated.

Currently, subject to these restrictions are the other countries in dark red, which, aside from the five mentioned above, are also Belgium, Bulgaria, Denmark, Croatia, Latvia, Hungary, the Netherlands, Ireland, Austria, Greece, Estonia, Lithuania, Slovakia, and Slovenia. Third-countries that are not listed as green are also part of this list.

At the same time, starting from November 22, the exact same restrictions will also apply to arrivals from Romania, the Canary Islands and Madeira, and the rest of the countries in the red category.

The red category also consists of Finland, Cyprus, Luxembourg, Norway, Poland, San Marino, Sweden, Switzerland and the Balearic Islands.

Travel From the Green & Orange Categories

Further in the press release, the Czech Ministry of Health explains that the Vatican City state remains the only European country on the green list, alongside the following third countries: Argentina, Australia, Bahrain, Chile, Hong Kong, Jordan, Colombia, Korea, Canada, Qatar, Kuwait, Macao, Namibia, New Zealand, Saudi Arabia, Peru, United Arab Emirates, Rwanda, Uruguay, and Taiwan.

As per the orange category, aside from Spain, which has been added to it this week, the category also includes Malta, France, Italy, Monaco and Portugal.

Travellers from both these categories need to fill in the arrival form and also test for COVID-19 either before reaching the country or within five days upon arrival.

Vaccinated travellers and those who have recovered from COVID-19 are exempt from the measure.


Related Posts
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap