EU to Sue the Czech Republic For Refusing Refugee Quotas

Prague Morning

Prague Morning

Video & News


The European Commission is to sue Poland, Hungary and the Czech Republic at the European Court of Justice (ECJ) for refusing to take in asylum seekers.

The commission, the EU's executive body, accused the three countries of "non-compliance with their legal obligations on relocation". 

The Czech Republic has accepted only 12 of the 2,000 asylum-seekers it had been designated, while Hungary and Poland have received none.

In September, the European Court of Justice rejected a legal challenge to the quota system from former Communist countries, including Hungary and the Czech Republic, which argued they were not equipped to accommodate people from mainly Muslim countries.

Following Thursday's announcement, Czech Prime Minister Andrej Babis told the BBC his country would continue to oppose the relocation scheme.

Author: red


  • Share
  • Embedded